Bezwada Wilson, TM Krishna win 2016 Magsaysay Award

Krishna_WilsonHuman rights activist Bezwada Wilson and south Indian classical musician TM Krishna have been conferred the Ramon Magsaysay Award for 2016.

Wilson from a dalit family in Karnataka, was lauded for his efforts to assert the inalienable right to a life of human dignity. Chennai born Carnatic musician TM Krishna was awarded for ensuring social inclusiveness.

The annual Ramon Magsaysay Award, named after former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay, honours ‘greatness of spirit in selfless service’ to the peoples of Asia. Four other awardees are from the Philippines, Indonesia, Laos and Japan.