NRIs win 19 seats in Canada general election

INTERcelectIndian origin candidates won 19 seats in Canada’s general election, more than doubling their numbers in Parliament, as the Liberal Party defeated the Conservatives.

15 NRI Liberal candidates won and 3 from the Conservative Party were elected including Deepak Obhrai, 65, in the general elections 338 seats. Obhrai won for the seventh time from Calgary Forest. One NRI from the New Democratic Party also won.

Darshan Kang made history in Calgary by winning a seat, and conservative Tim Uppa retained his seat in Edmonton.

Liberty Party candidates Raj Grewal, Ramesh Sangha, Kamal Khera, Ruby Sahota and Sonia Sidhu. Other Liberals who won are Navdeep Bains, Gagan Sikand, Raj Saini, Bardish Chagger and Bob Saroya, as well as Yasmin Ratansi, Chandra Arya, Harjit Sajjan, Sukh Dhaliwal, Jati Sidhu, and Jasvir Sandhu of the NDP won from Surrey Centre.

Reports say the LIberals are poised to get a parliamentary majority.

Canadian NRIs make up some 3 percent of Canada’s population.