Record 10 NRIs elected to UK Parliament

NRINGpatelA record 10 Indian origin candidates have been elected to the British parliament. They include Keith Vaz, Priti Patel and Infosys co-founder Narayana Murthy’s son-in-law.

Long serving Keith Vaz (Leicester East) and Virendra Sharma (Ealing Southall) won their seats, as did Priti Patel (Witham) who is PM David Cameron’s Indian diaspora champion. She won a 41.5 percent majority, 27,123 votes.

Opposition Labours’s Valerie Vaz retained her Walsall South seat and Seema Malhotra won her south west London seat with ease.

Infosys co-founder Narayana Murthy’s son-in-law Rishi Sunak contested from the Tory seat of Richmond (Yorks) and bagged 27,744 votes. Sunak will now become a first time MP in the House of Commons.

Other NRI winners include Alok Sharma (Reading West), Shailesh Vara (Cambridgeshire Northwest), first timer Suella Fernandes (Fareham) and Lisa Nandy (Wigan).

The tally of 10 NRI MPs in the British parliament breaks the previous 2010 general record of eight.