Several NRIs among Padma recipients

Former deputy prime minister and BJP veteran L K Advani, Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal, actors Dilip Kumar and Amitabh Bachchan, and Karim Al Hussaini Aga Khan leader of Ismaili Muslims have been awarded the Padma Vibhushan, India's second highest civilian honour, after the Bharat Ratna. Padma Bhushan recipients include Microsoft founder and philanthropists Bill and Melinda Gates who have donated billions towards health care in India. Of the list of 104 Padma award winners, 9 received the Padma Vibhushan, 20 were awarded the Padma Bhushan and 75, the Padma Shri. The list included 17 women, and setting a record, are 17 awardees in the category of foreigners, NRIs and PIOs, prominent among the Padma Bhushan awardees are Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose's Japanese associate Saichiro Misumi and US Sanskrit scholar David Frawley who is also known as Vamadeva. Foreigners awarded the Padma Shri are Chinese Indologist Huang Baosheng, French scientist Jacques Blamont, French novelist Jean-Claude Carriere, professor of Tamil at the University of California, Berkeley, George L Hart; and German Indologist Annette Schmiedchen. The NRI/PIO in the category are US NRI economist Nandrajan Raj Chetty, classical vocalist Tripti Mukherjee, and Dr Dattatreyudu Nori, Dr Raghu Rama Pillarisetti and Dr Saumitra Rawat in the field of medicine. The sports category include 4 women PV Sindhu, the badminton champ, the women's cricket team's Mithali Raj, Hockey player Saba Anjum and the first female amputee to climb Mt Everest, Arunima Singh. Wrestling coach Satpal and hockey team captain Sardara Singh were the only 2 male Padma awardees in the category.